Interactive Q&A on the five key features of a successful MPA – Graham Edgar and Stuart Kininmonth answered your questions

Event Date: 
Monday, March 3, 2014 at 5 pm EST / 2 pm PST / 10 pm GMT (This is 9 am Australian Eastern time the following day)

In this interactive Office Hour chat, co-authors Graham Edgar (University of Tasmania) and Stuart Kininmonth (Stockholm Resilience Centre) took your questions on their recent Nature article “Global conservation outcomes depend on marine protected areas with five key features”.

Their study of 87 MPAs worldwide found that the sites’ conservation benefits increased exponentially with the accumulation of five characteristics: the sites were no-take, well-enforced, old (>10 years), large (>100 km2), and isolated by deep water or sand. Edgar published the results with 24 co-authors.

The study is available at http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/vaop/ncurrent/full/nature13022.html. The study is also profiled in the March-April 2014 issue of MPA News.

About the Office Hour format

The event was a live interactive chat conducted by typing and reading text. There was no audio component.

Office Hour chats provide an opportunity for audience members to ask questions to our guests; audience members may also share their own experiences and insights with the guests and other participants. All participants are able (and encouraged) to post, and all participants are able to view all posts. Inappropriate or off-topic content will be controlled.